- County Attorney
- Bad Checks
- Child Support
- Civil Cases
- Criminal Cases
- Mental Health Hearings
- STOP Class
- Victim Witness Unit
COVID-19 NOTICE: The County Courthouse is closed to the public until further notice beginning at 5pm CST on March 18, 2020.
If you have documents, please use the secured drop-box located in the parking lot of the Lincoln County Detention Center at 302 North Jeffers, near the Children’s Museum. Make sure your documents are in a sealed envelope and addressed to the County Attorney’s Office.
The phones will not be monitored by staff. You can leave a message and an attorney will return your call within 24-48 hours.
Rebecca Harling – County Attorney
301 N Jeffers Room 101A
North Platte, NE 69101
308-534-4350 Ext 4320 (p)
8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.
Monday – Friday
The County Attorney is elected by the voters of Lincoln County for a four-year term. Rebecca Harling is our current Lincoln County Attorney. She took office in February 2008.
The County Attorney appoints her own Deputies. The office has six Deputy County Attorneys. Three of those Deputies practice criminal law, one practices civil law, and two practice in the Child Support Division. The current Deputies practicing criminally are: Tanya Roberts-Connick, Chief Deputy County Attorney; Angela Franz, Deputy County Attorney; and Kortnei Hoeft, Deputy County Attorney. Joe Wright is the Deputy practicing civil law. The attorneys practicing in the Child Support Division are Tyler Volkmer and Stephen King.
The County Attorney is the acting Coroner for Lincoln County, Nebraska. The Coroner is called to accident scenes, to the scene when someone dies in his/her home, and to the scene when someone dies as a result of a crime.
COVID-19 NOTICE: Please complete the Request for Prosecution of Bad Check form. Enclose it with the $10 filing fee in a sealed, secured envelope addressed to the Lincoln County Attorney’s Office. The envelope can be left in the county drop box located in the parking lot of the Lincoln County Detention Center at 302 North Jeffers, near the Children’s Museum.
Download the Bad Check Request Form
The County Attorney’s Office also has a Bad Check Division. The prosecution of bad checks is as follows:
- The check must be written in Lincoln County, Nebraska.
- Goods or merchandise must be exchanged in Lincoln County, Nebraska, on the day the check was written. The bad checks division cannot accept checks that are written on a closed account, stop payment checks, postdated checks, or held checks. Closed account checks must be turned over to the appropriate law enforcement agency for investigation.
- If the check written is under $1,500.00 the merchant/business has up to eighteen months to bring the check into the office for prosecution. If the check written is over $1,500.00 the merchant/business has 3 years to bring the check into the office for prosecution.
- Once a letter is sent to the check writer at the address listed on their check, they have 10 business days to pay the check in the office. If the check writer fails to pay for the bad check in the time allotted, the County Attorney’s Office will file a bad check warrant for the individual.
COVID-19 NOTICE: The Lincoln County Attorney child support office is closed until further notice. All inquiries can be directed to 1-877-631-9973.
Child Support Enforcement
The Child Support Division is responsible for the establishment of paternity and child support orders as well as the enforcement of child support orders. These matters are considered Civil and are heard in District Court. In addition to the 2 attorneys in the Child Support Division there are also 4 support workers who handle the child support cases.
The Deputy County Attorney in charge of the Civil Division defends Lincoln County employees and provides legal advice to the elected officials.
The County Attorney prosecutes criminal cases on behalf of the State of Nebraska in and for Lincoln County. The basic procedure is as follows:
- An individual violates the laws of the State of Nebraska.
- The violator is arrested and taken to jail or is given a citation (ticket) by law enforcement.
- If the citation allows a waiver, the violator may plead guilty and pay the fine and court costs without appearing in before the Judge.
- If the violator is not allowed a waiver, and the offense is a misdemeanor in nature, the citation will have an arraignment date for the violator to appear in Court. There are numerous options available at the arraignment: The Defendant can request an attorney or plead guilty, not guilty, or no contest. If the violation is a misdemeanor it remains in the County Court system.
- If the violation is a felony, it is first heard in County Court. The County Court Judge determines if the State has presented sufficient evidence to bind the case over to the District Court for trial by Judge or Jury.
- The County Attorney or a Deputy is selected to prosecute any given case. He or she examines all the written, photographic, or physical evidence that law enforcement officers and their witnesses have provided.
- In Criminal Court the violator is called a Defendant. If the Defendant so chooses they may hire their own attorney, or if the offense is one seeking jail time, the Defendant may file paperwork with County Court and the Judge will determine the Defendant’s eligibility for appointed counsel.
- If a case is set for a jury trial, in County Court a jury of six is selected and in District Court a jury of twelve is selected.
- If the Defendant pleads guilty or is found guilty by a jury, the sentencing occurs after a pre-sentence investigation is completed.
Mental Health Hearings
The County Attorney’s Office also helps people when they are a danger to themselves and/or to others. Law enforcement officers often respond to 911 calls and proceed to take the individual into protective custody. The individual is taken to the local hospital and placed in the Behavioral Unit. The County Attorney or Deputy meets with a special board to determine if the individual should be kept in custody, released, or possibly placed in a special facility.
COVID-19 NOTICE: Until further notice, registration can only be completed by contacting Traffic Safety Plus by phone at 402-466-0033 or online at www.trafficsafetyplus.org.
If cited with certain minor traffic violations these are your options:
* Appear in Court
* Pay by Waiver
* Participate in the S.T.O.P. Program
The S.T.O.P. Program
Take the Course and have:
- No Citation Fine
- No Court Appearance
- No Points off Your License
Offenses Not Eligible for the S.T.O.P Program:
- Leaving the Scene of an Accident
- Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol and/or drugs
- Willful Reckless or Reckless Driving
- Exhibition of Acceleration
- Fleeing to Avoid Arrest
- Refusal of Breath or Blood Test
- Driving Under Suspension
- Injury Accidents
- Speeding more than 19 mph over the speed limit
- No Insurance
- CDL Operator’s License Holder
S.T.O.P. Course Registration Fee
$125.00 (Court costs may be applicable)
How Can I Enroll?
- Register on-line
Traffic Safety Plus
111 N. 56th St., STE 301
Lincoln, NE 68504
* Register in the County Attorney’s Office
* Must Register in person at the Lincoln County Attorney’s Office
* Money order or cash payment is the only type of payment allowed.
COVID-19 NOTICE: If you wish the victim advocate to contact you, please email firstname.lastname@example.org and she will respond within 1-2 business days. In case of an emergency, please dial 911. Protection Orders can be completed through the District Court.
Victim Witness Unit
Also located in the County Attorney’s Office is a Victim Witness Unit. The Victim Witness Director is Cindy Korf. The Assistant is Cynthia Rucker. The Victim Witness Unit helps guide individuals through the complex criminal justice system.
The successful prosecution of criminal cases depends mainly on the support and assistance victims and witnesses provide, especially their willingness to testify in court. The Victim Witness Unit works closely with law enforcement and other community agencies to ensure that the victim is protected from additional acts committed by the Defendant; to protect the children and other family members of the victim from exposure to, or possible injury inflicted by the Defendant; and to gather restitution information from the victims of crimes.
The Victim Witness Unit advocates and offers support to victims of crime.
This agency does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, disability, or age in the delivery of services. If language accommodations are needed, please call the Victim Witness Office and request a language card.
Esta agencia no discrimina por motivos de raza, color, origen nacional, religión, sexo, discapacidad o edad en la prestación de servicios. Si se necesita alojamiento sobre lenguaje, por favor llame a la Oficina para Víctimas Testigos y solicite una tarjeta de idioma